Tattu 4s 1800mah 75C LiPo: Extra flight time for FPV drones

15
Tattu 4s 1800mah 75C Li-Po review

Today we’re going to find out how long it takes to charge the Tattu 4s 1800mah 75c and what the real world flight time is, in comparison to 1300 mAh batteries which are more common for racing drones.

When it comes to racing quadcopters, flight time is not as important as it is in the case of cruising drones. More important is the take-off weight and you need to keep it as low as possible. More weight means less agility and lower speed.

Sponosored AD

By comparison, the Tattu 4s 1800mah 75c has 193 grams and the Tattu R-Line 4s 1300 mAh has only 165 grams. I’m very curious to find out if the extra capacity (500 mAh) will counteract the increased weight.

Tattu 4s 1800mah 75C review: Compared to 1300mah

Review of the Tattu 4s 1800 mAh 75C Li-Po battery

Disclosure: I received this Li-Po as part of a product review collaboration with Gens Tattu. Product specs and quality may vary according to the manufacturer’s reliability, so I cannot guarantee that you will get a battery that performs exactly the same as seen in my article.

Although I received the Li-Po about a month ago, only now I had the time and mood to review it. You know, battery testing/review is pretty time consuming.

Battery comes well packed with charging plug protector and safety instruction. At first look it seems very well made with good quality terminals.

Tattu 4s 1800mah 75C LiPo battery review: Built quality

Battery pack measures around 90 x 33 x 30 mm (L, W, H). Due to the the aluminium envelope, the Tattu 1800 mAh weights a bit more than other 4s Li-Po batteries with same capacity. After a bit of research I found out that this producing technique provides not just better heat dissipation and impact resistance, but also compression, in order to minimize puffing during high discharge.

Tattu 4s 1800 mAh 75C battery technical specs

  • Suitable for FPV racing drones;
  • Minimum of 1800 mAh storage capacity;
  • 4 cells of 3.7v. Total voltage of 14.8V;
  • Total power of ~ 26.64 Wh;
  • Up to 5C charging rate (do not exceed this value!);
  • High discharge rate (75C);
  • Max Cont Current of 135 A;
  • Maximum burst discharge rate of 150C;
  • Max Burst Current of 270 A;
  • JST-XH charging plug;
  • XT60 discharge (drone) plug;
  • Net Weight: 198 grams;
  • Dimensions: 90.30 x 33.27 x 29.90 mm (L W H).

Battery came about half charged (48%), which is recommended for storing. I measured 15.34V on the XT60 plug. Cell 1 – 3.83V, Cell 2 – 3.845, Cell 3 – 3.83V and Cell 4 – 3.83V.

Is it worth to upgrade from 1300mAh to 1800mAh?

In order to make a fair compassion I used same charger (SkyRC iMAX B6 Mini) with same settings. Both batteries I used for the test had less than 10 charging cycles.

Tattu 4s 1800mah 75C Li-Po review: Test setup

Firstly, I fully discharged both batteries, rest them for 1 hour, then charged them up at 0.5 A. As you can see in the comparison table bellow, the R-Line 95C finished the discharge process more balanced. At the end of charging, both batteries were well balanced. The two batteries remained cold during the charge.

LiPoStart voltageEnd voltageCell1 (v)Cell2 (v)Cell3 (v)Cell4 (v)Final capacity (mAh)Time (minutes)
4s 1300 mAh 95C 13.16 16.81 3.29/4.213.29/4.23.30/4.203.29/4.20 1365166
4s 1800 mAh 75C 13.20 16.803.37/4.213.22/4.203.40/4.203.23/4.211834224 

In order to test how these two behave in the real world I used my Kopis 1 racing drone. I tried to fly them with similar amount of throttle in order to get the most accurate results.

Tattu 4s 1800mah 75C LiPo review: Test with Kopis 1

As I’m not a Pro racing pilot, I haven’t noticed significant performance dropping from 95C to 75C while flying at top speed. Also, the extra weight doesn’t seem to be an issue for the 2450KV brush-less motors. Frankly, it’s hard to get an objective measurement of true “C” rating without professional tools.

I ended my test flights when OSD shown 14 volts (~ 3.5V/cell). While my flight with the 1300 mAh LiPo lasted about 5 minutes, the one with the Tattu 4s 1800 mah ended after almost 7 minutes. Unfortunately, I forgot home my infrared thermometer and I can’t confirm if motors and ESCs became hotter after the longer flight.

Editor’s rating

Those who need extra flight time for their FPV racing drone, this Tattu 1800 mAh LiPo can be ordered from here (delivery from both, EU and US, is available).

Tattu 4s 1800mah 75C LiPo review: Verdict

Pros

  • Well packed, with included plug protector;
  • Aluminium envelope for good heat dissipation;
  • Longer flight time over 1300 mAh batteries.

Cons

  • Suitable only for larger FPV drones (210 mm and up).
Photo Gallery

15 COMMENTS

  1. “As I’m not a Pro racing pilot, I haven’t noticed significant performance dropping from 95C to 75C while flying at top speed.”
    The maximum current that can be drained from the battery is the C rating times the capacity of the battery. Since 75 x 1800 > 95 x 1300, the 75C x 1800mAh battery is expected to perform better than the 95C x 1300mAh battery.

    • Suppose both batteries are loaded at just 1000mah. Which one will have more instant power, the one with 95C or 75C?. “C” ratting means instant power, capacity (like 1300mAh or 1800mAh) means how long you can fly.

      • ‘C rating mean instant power’ is an over simplification, but holds true when the packs are the same size. It doesn’t hold true with mixed size batteries. C x mah (pack capacity) = available amps. The 1800 pack has more lithium molecules so it can release them faster regardless of how much is left in the pack. Its not exactly linear as the pack loses energy but fairly close.

      • No. The power is voltage x current. The voltage is the same for both batteries, the (maximum) current is C rating times capacity.

      • > “C” ratting means instant power, capacity (like 1300mAh or 1800mAh) means how long you can fly.

        If you have
        – Battery A : 3s 50C 1000mAh
        – Battery B : 3s 100C 1000mAh
        And you discharge them at full power, the battery A will be discharged in 1/50th of 1 hour delivering 50A, and the battery B will be discharged in 1/100th of 1 hour, delivering 100A.

    • I don’t agree, though 75 x 1800 > 95 x 1300, but 1800 mAh lipo si heavier than 1300 mAh lipo, so the drone need more power to take off.

  2. Charging at .5 amps isn’t very useful but interesting. Most people don’t realize it but balancing the cells generally is the largest x factor between packs. High charge rates causes more imbalance before the charger poles the cells. The impractical charge rate of 0.5 amps should limit that quite a bit. The mah/minute of your two times (8.22 for the 1300 and 8.18 for the 1800) shows that both packs were very similar in health.

  3. I has saw your video, but there have a small detail make me wonder that why you don’t discharge and charging the battery before you use it? (because i saw you take it directly from the case..it seems it’s a new battery…)

    • 🙂 Of course that I fully charged the battery prior the test flight.
      I’ve repackaged it to show how it comes from the from GensAce.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here